Webinars on research participation

On November 21, 2018 ADI will hold the first in a series of three webinars; creating a unique opportunity for the general public and Alzheimer and dementia associations to engage directly with health and social care professionals and companies involved in dementia research and clinical trials. As far as we know, no other webinar has provided such ‘public to professional’ access before.

Each webinar in the series aims to link and build upon the others, but they will address three discrete topics within the area of global dementia research participation. We hope to encourage lively debate and knowledge exchange; stirring interest in what is new in terms of research into dementia and searching for a disease-modifying treatment.  

We ask the public what they want to hear about dementia research in our promotional video for the first webinar:

 

The first webinar, “Let’s Talk About Dementia Research: Demystifying Trials, Access and Understanding” will build on the findings from a recent Generation Program global survey of 10,000 people and ADI’s World Alzheimer Report 2018 and start at the beginning: opening with an overview and discussion on what dementia research is; why do we need clinical trials and research (many now focusing on non-symptomatic volunteers or early/mild stages); what are the practicalities for clinicians ‘on the ground'; and what is the lived experience of families taking part in trials.

The webinar will be streamed at:

05:00 – 06:30 Los Angeles

08:00 – 09:30 Washington

10:00 – 11:30 Buenos Aires

13:00 – 14:30 London

21:00 – 22:30 Singapore

22:00 – 23:30 Tokyo

We will hear from the pharmaceutical industry, researchers and clinicians conducting research and clinical trials, as well as primary care health professionals supporting patients and families.  Most importantly, we will hear stories of people living with dementia and their care partners about their lived experience. 

And we want to hear from you. Each webinar will include ample opportunities for questions and discussion.

Follow-on webinars will drill down into issues that spark particular interest with our audience – both public and professionals.  We will be guided by and respond to this interest organically, but hope to cover issues such as the divide of research opportunities between lower- and middle-income countries (LMICs) vs higher income countries (HICs) – barriers and enablers.  The series will conclude with a look ahead at overcoming some of these barriers and hopes for the future.

If you, or anyone you know, are interested in joining our webinars, please visit our event page. You can also sign-up for email updates about ADI news, events and activities, including upcoming information about panellists and subsequent webinars.

ADI would like to thank Roche for their generous contribution towards the running of our dementia research webinars, enabling us to open up the debate on this important topic.

Where next?