ADI and DAI webinar on dementia and rights

ADI and DAI invite you to a joint webinar: Dementia & rights; from principles to practice

Alzheimer's Disease International (ADI) is delighted to invite you to a joint webinar with our partner organisation Dementia Alliance International (DAI): Dementia & rights; from principles to practice. The 75-minute global webinar will see a panel of experts across multiple disciplines address key issues and principles surrounding human rights and dementia and how these important concepts can be translated into mobilisation and practice.

The aim of the webinar is to put “principles into practice” and address the question of “how can I get involved?”

27 February 2020
06:00 EST
11:00 GMT
12:00 CET
21:30 Adelaide
22:00 Sydney

Click here to register for the webinar.

The discussion will aim to provide ideas and solutions including how governments report on the Convention on the Rights or People with Disabilities (CRPD), your role and how you can get involved.

We are sharing with you some short papers on the topics to be covered:

We want to hear from you. Having reviewed these papers, what are you going to do next? What will be the enablers? How can we work together to ensure each country adequately reports on the Convention on the Rights or People with Disabilities (CRPD)? The webinar will be an opportunity to ask our experts what they think and discover where the gaps and solutions lie to putting dementia rights principles into practice.

The panel will consist of:

  • Paola Barbarino, CEO, Alzheimer’s Disease International (panel co-chair)
  • Kate Swaffer, Chair, CEO and Co-founder of Dementia Alliance International (panel co-chair)
  • Suzanne Cahill, Author of ‘Dementia and human rights” and Honorary Professor in Dementia Care at NUI Galway Centre for Economic and Social Research on Dementia, Ireland
  • Silvia Perel Levin, International Longevity Centre Global Alliance (ILC GA) representative to the UN, Geneva; Chair, Geneva NGO Committee on Ageing
  • Mary Beth Wighton, Chair & Co-founder Ontario Dementia Advisory Group and Dementia Advocacy Canada; Member of Federal Ministerial Advisory Board on Dementia
  • LiYu Tang, Secretary General, Taiwan Alzheimer's Disease Association
  • Jim Pearson, Director of Policy & Research, Alzheimer Scotland

Where next?